Were Money No Object on June 1 with Suicide Forest, Celluloid & The Tooth
by James Fulton on June 1, 2011

Books I Would Like To Buy:

Suicide Forest

by El Torres and Gabriel Hernandez; IDW, $17.99

I read an enjoyed the last series by Torres and Hernandez, The Veil, which was a pretty cool horror mini-series that covered some Sixth Sense ground.  Now, these two creators are back with a new book, set in the Aokigahara, a forest in Japan which is beautiful, but also a famous destination for people planning on committing suicide.

From the solicitation, it looks like there’s something to do with a forest ranger who discovers a body, and a complicated relationship between him and two other people.  I don’t spend much time on solicitations when I know the creators involved in a project, and The Veil was good enough that I am definitely interested in giving this a good look.

Celluloid

by Dave McKean; Fantagraphics; $35

I had no idea that this was coming out.  I loved McKean’s Cages, and have been meaning to re-read it for a few years now.  I remember it confusing me a lot when it came out, but that I also found myself getting swept up in McKean’s peculiar drawing style and multi-media approach to storytelling.

According to an article I read on-line, Celluloid is an erotic graphic novel, in the vein of Alan Moore and Melinda Gebbie’s Lost Girls, which I’ve never read.  The story has something to do with a woman who discovers some old film, and enters into an erotic world or something.  It doesn’t really sound like my usual type of thing, but I do admire McKean’s work, and am therefore pretty interested in seeing what this looks like.  I’m also just glad to see him return to comics instead of always doing childrens’ books with Neil Gaiman.

The Tooth

by Cullen Bunn, Shawn Lee, and Matt Kindt; Oni Press, $24.99

Here’s another example of a book that I don’t need to know anything about to want.  It’s co-written by Cullen Bunn, who has been doing great things with his Oni series The Sixth Gun.  Matt Kindt is the brilliant mind behind such great comics as Revolver, Super Spy, and 3 Story.  This book would mark the first time I’d have read a book that he drew without also writing it, and I wonder how that’s going to work, as all of his other books seem like they spring from his mind as a complete package.

The Tooth looks to be about some kind of monstrous superhero, who fights mythical creatures and the like.  Again, I don’t stress the solicitations too much, as I’d rather just read the book and be surprised by the content.

There is a preview available here, if you’re interested.  I love the old school colour bars at the top of each page.

So, what would you buy Were Money No Object?



Tags: , ,

Related Columns Articles

more articles »

Wednesday Comments - Showing Image Comics Some Love

The Weekly Round-Up #246 With The Fade Out, Armor Hunters: Harbinger, The Delinquents, Stray Bullets Killers, The Wicked + The Devine & More

Box Office: Guardians of the Galaxy Retakes #1, If I Stay Almost Takes Second And Sin City 2 Bombs

Monday Morning Critic - The November Man And The Fascinating Post James Bond Career of Pierce Brosnan (And It's Marvel Studios' Film Relevance)

James Fulton

view profile »

Featured Poll

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

Recent Comments

Search Pulse

Author:

Zone:

Category:

So, with this Simple Jquery Modal Window, it can be in any shapes you want! Simple and Easy to modify : )