Houston Film Critics Society Names Argo Best Picture Of Year, Lincoln Leads All Winners
by Travis Leamons on January 6, 2013

Each year the Houston Film Critics Society, like the New York Film Critics Circle or the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, honors the best in cinema. But since Texas likes to do things bigger, the HFCS actually awards trophies to the winners rather than offer acknowledgements of appreciation. For the sixth annual awards program, the organization recognized the humanitarian efforts by Adam Yauch, of Beastie Boys fame, who passed away in 2012. The Houston Film Critics also bestowed a lifetime achievement award to the great actor Robert Duvall. Longtime film critic of the Houston Chronicle, Jeff Millar, one of the first writers to recognize the impact of Fight Club (but was confused by The Matrix), received a posthumous honor by the organization – “Outstanding Contribution to Cinema.”

Argo took the biggest prize with Best Picture of the Year honors and the film’s director, Ben Affleck, was named Best Director by the society. Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln was also favored in several categories. While it neither won picture nor director, it did take honors in the lead actor, supporting actor and screenplay categories. In terms of regional filmmaking, the second annual Texas Independent Film Award went to Richard Linklater’s Bernie, starring Jack Black, Shirley MacClaine and Matthew McConaughey.

Read below for the complete list of winners.

Best Picture

Best Director
Ben Affleck (Argo)

Best Screenplay
Tony Kushner (Lincoln)

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Actress
Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Supporting Actor
Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

Best Supporting Actress
Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables)

Best Cinematography

Roger Deakins (Skyfall)

Best Original Score

Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek and Tom Tykwer (Cloud Atlas)

Best Original Song
‘Skyfall’ (Skyfall)

Best Animated Film
Wreck-It Ralph

Best Documentary

The Imposter

Best Foreign Language Film

Holy Motors

Texas Independent Film Award

Technical Achievement
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Worst Film
That’s My Boy

Humanitarian Award

Adam Yauch

Outstanding Contribution to Cinema

Jeff Millar

Lifetime Achievement Award
Robert Duvall

Robert Duvall Lifetime Achievement Award from Travis Leamons on Vimeo.

Travis Leamons has been a member of the Houston Film Critics Society since 2009.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related News Articles

more articles »

America's Next Top Model Cycle 21 ANTM Fan Favorite Contestant Mirjana Puhar Murdered In Triple Homicide

Roger Moore's The Saint rises up in May

Out Today on Blu-Ray/DVD 02/24/2015: Big Hero 6, Horrible Bosses 2, Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Spider-Verse Epilogue: Spider-Gwen #1 Swings By Spider-Man With Spoilers Including Variant Covers Via Marvel Comics Preview!

Travis Leamons

view profile »

Featured Poll

Are you surprised by Jupiter Ascending tanking at the box office?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Recent Comments

» more comments

Search Pulse