Jennifer Lopez – Rebirth Review

Jennifer Lopez – Rebirth

1. Get Right
2. Step Into My World
3. Hold You Down
4. Whatever You Wanna Do
5. Cherry Pie
6. I Got You
7. Still Around
8. Ryde or Die
9. I Love
10. He’ll Be Back
11. (Can’t Believe) This Is Me
12. Bonus Track: Get Right featuring Fabolous

What’s a multitalented woman like J Lo to do? After a couple of very stormy years under the microscope like a lab experiment, a very public failed relationship, yet another rebound marriage, and back-to-back-to-back films that flop? Drop your nickname and release a new album, of course.

Jennifer Lopez’s newest recreation attempt, aptly titled Rebirth, is a bit of a surprise. It’s got some decent, listenable tracks on here. That’s not to say it’s a great album; it isn’t by any stretch of the imagination. But it is something you can listen to in the car as you pass the time stuck in rush-hour traffic.

The disc kicks off with the first single from the album, “Get Right”. With a bouncy horn track, Jennifer gets off to a good start with this danceable groove. Her breathy lyrical delivery suits the track. She keeps things going into the second track, “Step Into My World”, a midtempo number that suits her vocal delivery. And on “Hold You Down”, Jennifer reteams with Fat Joe in an ode to loyalty that has a nice spring to it.

The middle of the CD, however, begins to drag the album down. “Cherry Pie” would have sounded great in, say, 1987; today, it just sounds like a tired rehash of R&B cliches. “I Got You” tries to ride the coattails of nu-R&B, but falls flat. “Still Around” has a nice beat supplied by OutKast’s Big Boi, but Jennifer’s voice kills the track. And “Ride Or Die” and “I Love” are filler, forgettable tracks.

The album’s next-to-last track, “(Can’t Believe) This Is Me”, produced by husband Marc Anthony, is a bit of a surprise. A dramatic, crescendo-building track, it reminds me of something you’d be listening to on a Broadway soundtrack. It’s definitely different from everything else on the album, but it’s not bad. The album closes with a remix for “Get Right” featuring the vocal stylings of Mase-wannabe Fabolous, and like any other track he’s ever on, he kills this one dead.

I’m sure Jennifer had good intentions with this album. It seems like she tried to stretch herself out of her box by using a different group of producers than she normally does. However, it all winds up sounding for the most part like what she’s done before. It’s not necessarily bad. It’s just not that good either. Still, there are a couple of nice tracks on here, but unfortunately they’re buried in a morass of weak, forgettable songs.