Devil's Due Publishing (DDP) Press Release

Chicago, IL — July 29, 2005 — This August, Devil’s Due will publish Stronghold, a new 3-issue comic book series by Eisner nominee Phil Hester. Each 48-page, black-and-white issue will be drawn by rising star Tyler Walpole and retail for $4.95 each. For a look at all three issues’ synopsis and covers, visit http://www.devilsdue.net/stronghold/p2000_page/1

“When you have a chance to work with and publish a book by Phil Hester, you just can’t pass it up,” said DDP President Josh Blaylock. “The guy has always been a fabulous artist, but his writing is something else. Stronghold will definitely impress his fans and will surely create a whole new legion of Hester fans too.”

Previous reviews of Hester’s work: “Phil Hester is known as a premiere artist…he’s a damn fine writer too” [Source: InsidePulse.com]. “I am a fan of Phil Hester’s artwork, but I’d be willing to give up seeing his art on a regular basis if it meant we could get more writing out of him” [Source: TheFourthRail.com].

All of us feel we are meant for something more. That deep within us there is a hero denied just waiting to be reborn. But what if this true nature were something best kept buried? What if this reality were a prison meant to protect all creation from your awakening? Would you reclaim your identity even if it meant destroying a world?

Michael Grey’s humdrum life is shattered by the revelation that an impossibly advanced worldwide organization known as The Stronghold has been manipulating every detail of formerly drab existence. Equal parts covert agency and secretive cult, The Stronghold will stop at nothing to prevent Grey from learning the truth about his past. On the run with Claire, a former Stronghold agent, Grey comes face to face with an ancient enemy who holds the key to his forgotten history. Reclaiming that destiny opens Grey to both untold power and horrific retribution for his past crimes, a punishment that includes the destruction of his adopted home world of Earth. A startling combination of mystic revelation and science fiction epic, Stronghold will appeal to fans of The Matrix, Unbreakable, and Dune.

Devil’s Due. Reminding everyone that pop culture IS our culture.

ABOUT DEVIL’S DUE PUBLISHING (DDP)

Devil’s Due Publishing was formed in 1999 as both a commercial art studio and a small press comic book publisher. DDP’s first breakout success was 2001’s revamp of G.I. JOE, returning the long-lost 1980s characters to comics. Fans bought over 100,000 copies per month, immediately propelling G.I. JOE to the top of the charts. Today, DDP’s lineup includes Army of Darkness, Hack/Slash, Dragonlance, Forgotten Realms, the newly resurrected Chaos! Comics, and the Aftermath universe, an imprint featuring super-powered heroes in titles Defex, Breakdown, Blade of Kumori and Infantry.

Forgotten Realms and Dragonlance are trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc. in the USA and other countries. © 2005 Wizards.