NHL Award Predictions

The regular season is over and there are still a few playoff details left to be finished up out in the East as far as what teams will make it to the post-season while out in the West the only thing left to be settled is what the first round matchups will be.

Until all of that is finished up, here’s my list of candidates for the annual year end awards (with my winners in bold). The NHL will release their list of award candidates in a couple of weeks but will first conduct the draft lottery selection this Tuesday for non playoff teams.

Hart Trophy – MVP
Vancouver Canucks – Roberto Luongo
Pittsburgh Penguins – Sidney Crosby
San Jose Sharks – Joe Thornton

Vezina Trophy – Best Goalie
Vancouver Canucks – Roberto Luongo
New Jersey Devils – Martin Brodeur
Calgary Flames – Mikka Kipprusoff

Selke Trophy – Best Defensive Forward
Detroit Red Wings – Pavel Datsyuk
Ottawa Senators – Daniel Alfreddsson
Buffalo Sabres – Thomas Vanek

Calder Trophy – Rookie of the Year
Los Angeles Kings – Anze Kopitar
Colorado Avalanche – Paul Stastny
Pittsburgh Penguins – Evgeni Malkin

Adams Trophy – Coach of the Year
Buffalo Sabres – Lindy Ruff
Atlanta Thrashers – Bob Hartley
Detroit Red Wings – Mike Babcock

Norris Trophy – Best Defenseman
Dallas Stars – Sergei Zubov
Detroit Red Wings – Nicklas Lidstrom
Anaheim Ducks – Scott Neidermeyer

Lady Byng Trophy – Player Demonstrating Gentlemanly Play
Tampa Bay Lightning – Martin St. Louis
Pittsburgh Penguins – Sidney Crosby
Tampa Bay Lightning – Vincent Lecavalier

The NHLPA can worry about the Lester B. and the race for the Art Ross (scoring champ), Rocket Richard (most goals) and +/- leader are still to be decided.