Riding the Pine…Award Time

The baseball season is officially over and we come up on award time. Rather than just have me tell you who should win, I want you to tell me (I’ll chime in with the winners). So, without further adieu…

Josh Beckett, SP, Red Sox
Curtis Granderson, CF, Tigers
Vladimir Guerrero, RF, Angels
Torii Hunter, CF, Twins
Magglio Ordonez, RF, Tigers
David Ortiz, DH, Red Sox
Jorge Posada, C, Yankees
Alex Rodriguez, 3B, Yankees
Ichiro Suzuki, CF, Mariners

Prince Fielder, 1B, Brewers
Matt Holliday, LF, Rockies
Chipper Jones, 3B, Braves
Jake Peavy, SP, Padres
Albert Pujols, 1B, Cardinals
Hanley Ramirez, SS, Marlins
Jimmy Rollins, SS, Phillies
Chase Utley, 2B, Phillies
David Wright, 3B, Mets

AL Cy Young
Josh Beckett, Red Sox
Fausto Carmona, Indians
Dan Haren, Athletics
John Lackey, Angels
JJ Putz, Mariners
CC Sabathia, Indians
Johan Santana, Twins
Justin Verlander, Tigers

NL Cy Young
Cole Hamels, Phillies
Aaron Harang, Reds
Jake Peavy, Padres
Brad Penny, Dodgers
John Smoltz, Braves
Takashi Saito, Dodgers
Brandon Webb, Diamondbacks
Chris Young, Padres

AL Rookie of the Year
Brian Bannister, SP, Royals
Billy Butler, 1B, Royals
Shelley Duncan, DH, Yankees
Jeremy Guthrie, SP, Orioles
Alex Gordon, 3B, Royals
Phil Hughes, SP, Yankees
Dustin Pedroia, 2B, Red Sox
Delmon Young, RF, Devil Rays

NL Rookie of the Year
Ryan Braun, 3B, Brewers
Yunel Escobar, SS, Braves
Josh Hamilton, CF, Reds
Tim Lincecum, SP, Giants
Hunter Pence, CF, Astros
Mark Reynolds, 3B, Diamondbacks
Troy Tulowitzki, SS, Rockies
Chris Young, CF, Diamondbacks

AL Comeback Player
Jon Lester, SP, Red Sox
Carlos Pena, 1B, Devil Rays
Sammy Sosa, DH, Rangers

NL Comeback Player
Rick Ankiel, OF, Cardinals
JJ Hardy, SS, Brewers
Dmitri Young, 1B, Nationals

AL Manager of the Year
Terry Francona, Red Sox
Jim Leyland, Tigers
Mike Scioscia, Angels
Joe Torre, Yankees
Eric Wedge, Indians

NL Manager of the Year
Bud Black, Padres
Clint Hurdle, Rockies
Charlie Manuel, Phillies
Bob Melvin, Diamondbacks
Lou Pinella, Cubs

AL Executive of the Year
Brian Cashman, Yankees
Theo Epstein, Red Sox
Mark Shapiro, Indians
Bill Stoneman, Angels

NL Executive of the Year
Josh Byrnes, Diamondbacks
Omar Minaya, Mets
Dan O’Dowd, Rockies
John Schueholz, Braves

You’ll note that I didn’t like Matsuzaka or Okijima as ROY contenders – I don’t consider them since they have experience in Japan.

And a few bonus ones…
Free Agent Bust of the Year
Adam Eaton, Phillies
Eric Gagne, Rangers/Red Sox
Marcus Giles, Padres
Jeff Weaver, Mariners
Kip Wells, Cardinals

Milestone of the Year
Craig Biggio, Astros – 3000th hit.
Barry Bonds, Giants – HR 756.
Tom Glavine, Mets – 300th win.
Trevor Hoffman, Padres – 500th save.
Alex Rodriguez, Yankees – 500th HR (youngest to hit 500).
Sammy Sosa, Rangers – 600th HR.

If I left anyone out, go ahead and write them in (including foreign born players). Send all votes to wolverine0712@gmail.com; the deadline is next Sunday, November 4th. I’ll get the winners up next week (if my wife hasn’t gone into labor yet).

I’m 95% done with the Hall Of Fame feature, but I’m still taking players. Send me some players who you think deserve to be in the HOF. They can be retired or active players (but guys that have been in the league for a while; it’s hard to compare stats of a player with 2-3 years experience to the best players in the game). E-mail, PM, or post the players in the MLB thread in the forum. Thanks.