2008 MLB All Stars – My Version

Choosing an all star team is difficult when you have to select a player from every team. The basis for the experiment was to select an 25-man All Star roster, with at least one member from every team. There is a 7 man bench and an 8 man bullpen.

A lot of the choices were pretty easy, but the bench and pitchers got difficult when you had to find a Royal or National to throw on the team.

The NL All Stars according to me (and the readers):
C – Russ Martin (Reader pick: Brian McCann)
1B – Lance Berkman (Reader pick: Lance Berkman)
2B – Chase Utley (Reader pick: Chase Utley)
3B – Chipper Jones (Reader pick: Chipper Jones)
SS – Hanley Ramirez (Reader pick: Hanley Ramirez)
LF – Matt Holliday (Reader pick: Matt Holliday)
CF – Nate McLouth (Reader pick: Nate McLouth)
RF – Ryan Ludwick (Reader pick: Ryan Bruan)
DH – Albert Pujols (Reader pick: Albert Pujols)
Bench – Ryan Braun, Dan Uggla, Kosuke Fukudome, Adrian Gonzalez, David Wright, Christian Guzman, Yadier Molina (Reader picks: Russ Martin, Dan Uggla, Derek Lee, David Wright, Christian Guzman, Pat Burrell, Carlos Lee)

Starter – Brandon Webb (Reader pick: Edison Volquez)
Bullpen – Tim Lincecum, Edison Volquez, Kyle Lohse, Ben Sheets, Dan Haren, Brad Lidge, Kerry Wood, Brian Wilson (Reader picks: Tim Lincecum, Brandon Webb, Ben Sheets, Jake Peavy, Johan Santana, Brad Lidge, Jose Valverde, Billy Wagner)

The AL All Stars according to me:
C – Joe Mauer (Reader pick: Joe Mauer)
1B – Justin Morneau (Reader pick: Kevin Youkilis)
2B – Ian Kinsler (Reader pick: Ian Kinsler)
3B – Alex Rodriguez (Reader pick: Alex Rodriguez)
SS – Derek Jeter (Reader pick: Michael Young)
LF – Carlos Quentin (Reader pick: Manny Ramirez)
CF – Josh Hamilton (Reader pick: Josh Hamilton)
RF – JD Drew (Reader pick: Ichiro Suzuki)
DH – Milton Bradley (Reader pick: Milton Bradley)
Bench – Manny Ramirez, Hideki Matsui, Evan Longoria, Placido Polanco, Grady Sizemore, Michael Young, Kurt Suzuki (Reader picks: Carlos Quentin, Evan Longoria, Placido Polanco, Derek Jeter, AJ Pierzynski, Justin Morneau, Grady Sizemore)

Starter – Cliff Lee (Reader pick: Cliff Lee)
Bullpen – Ervin Santana, Justin Duchscherer, Roy Halladay, Felix Hernandez, Joe Saunders, Joakim Soria, George Sherrill, Francisco Rodriguez (Reader picks: Felix Hernandez, Justin Duchscherer, Roy Halladay, Josh Beckett, Joakim Soria, Francisco Rodriguez, George Sherrill)

Don’t like the teams? Want to bash me for picks? Send e-mails to me and I’ll justify my picks.


Join our newsletter

never miss the latest news, reviews, live event coverage, audio podcasts, exclusive interviews and commentary for Movies, TV, Music, Sports, Comics, Video Games!