Politics As Usual to be released Sept. 30 through ST Records/Nature Sound Records, will feature a “dream team” cast of platinum producers including DJ Premier, The Alchemist, Pete Rock, Large Professor, Hi-Tek, Havoc, Nottz, Buckwild, Easy Mo B, and cameos by Prodigy (of Mobb Deep), Bun B, Sheek Louch, Freeway and Lil Fame (of M.O.P.).

What the industry is saying about Termanology:

“Term has a unique desire for the culture because he touches the issues that I can relate to as a TRUE HIP-HOP HEAD..his flows are nice, and he stays creative with his subject matter…he even speaks for me and not every new MC comin’ up can do that.”
—DJ Premier

“Termanology puts the MC back in MC’ing, he’s a breath of fresh air in this dirty game.”
—Bun B

“Termanology shows he could be a leader of the new school.”
The Source Magazine

NEW YORK, N.Y.—Massachusetts-bred; New York-based rapper Termanology has now finished his official debut album, Politics As Usual. One of this year’s most anticipated albums; it drops Sept. 30, 2008, through a joint venture between Term’s own ST Records and Indy powerhouse Nature Sounds. Termanology’s debut merges the best of both worlds for all hip-hop fans, as its meshes classic boom-bap production from a virtual who’s-who list of production royalty—DJ Premier, Hi-Tek, Pete Rock, The Alchemist, Havoc, Buckwild, Nottz and Large Professor all provide tracks, with Term’s lyricism, swagger and bravado.

Growing up in the streets of the post-industrial, predominantly Latino city of Lawrence, Mass., the half-white, half-Puerto Rican MC transitioned from silly freestyles at age nine to full-fledged records by 15. Constantly traveling between Boston and New York to pursue his music business dream, Termanology released his first 12-inch in 2002. Through his alliance with influential mixtape DJ (and fellow Massachusetts native) Statik Selektah, Term began earning the respect of Boston’s hip-hop scene with several highly acclaimed 12-inch singles.

At the onset of 2006, Term caught his big break when legendary producer DJ Premier, whom he met three years earlier, finally blessed him with one of his signature, scratch-laden beats. “Watch How It Go Down” instantly became an underground classic and Termanology appeared on hip-hop’s international radar. The conscious hood anthem garnered the earnest MC tons of praise, landing him in The Source‘s “Unsigned Hype” and XXL‘s “Show and Prove” columns.

Since then, Termanology has quickly climbed the industry ranks with his Hood Politics mixtape series and continued collaborations with DJ Premier and other big-name producers. Term’s hard work resulted in a joint venture deal with Brooklyn-based label Nature Sounds, which he signed in late 2007. “I decided to go the Indy route to have total control of everything related to my project,” Term explains.

Nature Sounds is quickly becoming the indy home for classic hip-hop. During the last couple of years the label has released projects by several artists that include hip-hop cult icon MF DOOM, Wu-Tang’s Masta Killa (Made in Brooklyn), the debut album from Havoc of Mobb Deep (The Kush), most recently, Pete Rock’s latest (NY’s Finest).

Term has already set things in motion for his debut, Politics As Usual, with the recent leak of the LP’s buzz single, “How We Rock”, which has the Internet buzzing and features Term rocking with two of hip-hop’s most beloved individuals, Bun B and DJ Premier (who produced “How We Rock”). Term has also shot a video for “How We Rock” and the video will be released to the masses shortly.

Tracklisting and credits for Termanology’s Politics As Usual

1) “It’s Time” (Produced by Easy Mo Bee)
2) “Watch How It Go Down” (Produced by DJ Premier)
3) “Respect My Walk” (Produced by Buckwild)
4) “Hood Shit” f/Prodigy of Mobb Deep (Produced by The Alchemist)
5) “Float” (Produced by Nottz)
6) “Please Don’t Go” (Produced by Nottz)
7) “How We Rock” f/Bun B of UGK (Produced by DJ Premier)
8) “Drugs, Crime & Gorillaz” f/Sheek Louch & Freeway (Produced by Nottz)
9) “In the Streets” f/Lil Fame of M.O.P. (produced by Hi-Tek)
10) “So Amazing” (Produced by DJ Premier)
11) “Sorry I Lied” (Produced by Large Professor)
12) “We Killin’ Ourselves” (Produced by Pete Rock)
13) “The Chosen” (Resurrecting the Game) (Produced by Havoc)

Tags: , ,