One Step Beyond Gets Closer in September



Classic Supernatural Anthology Series Makes Its Out-Of-This-World DVD Debut September 15 From CBS Home Entertainment And Paramount Home Entertainment

HOLLYWOOD, Calif. (July 16, 2009) Before The Twilight Zone, there was ONE STEP BEYOND, the groundbreaking 1959 series landing on DVD for the first time ever on September 15 from CBS Home Entertainment and Paramount Home Entertainment. Debuting as a three-disc collectible set that includes all 22 digitally remastered first season episodes, ONE STEP BEYOND: THE OFFICIAL FIRST SEASON sought out stories of the paranormal including tales of ghosts, disappearances, monsters and more and recreated them each week in thrilling and suspenseful ways that led viewers to ask the question “What if it is real?”

Released just in time for the series 50th anniversary, ONE STEP BEYOND was hosted by John Newland, who also directed the series, and fed on the nations growing interest in the paranormal in the late 1950s and early 1960s. This must-have for any sci-fi fans DVD library includes the extended pilot “The Bride Possessed,” which includes a five-minute monologue from Newland, and “The Devils Laughter,” arguably the best episode of the series, which tells the story of an Englishman convicted of murder and sentenced to be hanged though he somehow manages to repeatedly escape death. The first season also features teasers for upcoming episodes at the end of each episode, an iconic series promo, the original Alcoa-sponsored opening and the Main Title Sequence from the 1990s.

ONE STEP BEYOND: THE OFFICIAL FIRST SEASON will be available for the suggested retail price of $54.99 US and $57.99 CAN and is a three-disc set presented in Full Screen with English Mono sound. The DVD is not rated in the U.S. and rated PG in Canada. The total running time is 9 Hrs., 21 Min. The DVD disc breakdown is as follows:

Disc One:
The Bride Possessed with John Newland monologue
Night of April 14th
Emergency Only
The Dark Room
Twelve Hours To Live
The Dream
Special features: Series Promo, Alcoa Opening, Main Title Sequence (1990s version)

Disc Two:
The Dead Part of the House
The Vision
The Devils Laughter
The Return of Mitchell Campion
The Navigator
The Secret

Disc Three:
The Aerialist
The Burning Girl
The Haunted U-Boat
The Image of Death
The Captains Guests
The Front Runner
The Riddle


Pre-Order it today at