NHL News: Henrik Sendin Named League's Most Valuable Player

Sedin had a great year for the Canucks and beat out Crosby and Ovechkin for the award.

Sedin received 46 first place votes, edging Ovechkin who has 40, Crosby was third with 20.

Sedin posted a career best in points this season with 112, 30 more than his previous best. Ovechkin was looking for his 3rd straight MVP award, something that hasn’t been done since Wayne Gretzky won 8 straight. Crosby finished the season in a tie for most goals scored and second in points.

Also at the award show, Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres won the Vezina trophy for top goaltender. Tyler Myers won the Calder Trophy for rookie of the year. Dave Tippet of the Phoenix Coyotes won coach of the year. Martin St. Louis won the Lady Byng trophy. Pavel Datsyuk won the Selke trophy for top defensive forward. Duncan Keith won the Norris Trophy for top defensman.

Tags: ,

Join our newsletter

never miss the latest news, reviews, live event coverage, audio podcasts, exclusive interviews and commentary for Movies, TV, Music, Sports, Comics, Video Games!