The King’s Speech Takes Top Prize at Screen Actors Guild Awards

The King’s Speech continues to strike gold. Within the past week it has been honored by the Producers Guild of America and the Directors Guild of America. Last night at the 2011 Screen Actors Guild Awards, which aired live on both TBS & TNT, Tom Hooper’s film walked away with two more awards. For the SAG Awards each performance is decided by their fellow acting peers, and is no doubt a bigger accomplishment than winning a Golden Globe, which is decided by foreign press members.

You can find the winners of 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards below highlighted in bold (for Television honors, check out Deadline).

Jeff Bridges – True Grit
Robert Duvall – Get Low
Jesse Eisenberg – The Social Network
Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
James Franco – 127 Hours

Annette Bening – The Kids Are All Right
Nicole Kidman – Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence – Winter’s Bone
Natalie Portman – Black Swan
Hilary Swank – Conviction

Christian Bale – The Fighter
John Hawkes – Winter’s Bone
Jeremy Renner – The Town
Mark Ruffalo – The Kids Are All Right
Geoffrey Rush – The King’s Speech

Amy Adams – The Fighter
Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech
Mila Kunis – Black Swan
Melissa Leo – The Fighter
Hailee Steinfeld – True Grit

Black Swan – Vincent Cassel, Barbara Hershey, Mila Kunis, Natalie Portman, Winona Ryder

The Fighter – Amy Adams, Christian Bale, Melissa Leo, Jack McGee, Mark Wahlberg

The Kids Are All Right – Annette Bening, Josh Hutcherson, Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, Mia Wasikowska

The King’s Speech – Anthony Andrews, Helena Bonham Carter, Jennifer Ehle, Colin Firth, Michael Gambon, Derek Jacobi, Guy Pearce, Geoffrey Rush, Timothy Spall

The Social Network – Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, Armie Hammer, Max Minghella, Josh Pence, Justin Timberlake

Green Zone
Robin Hood

Ernest Borgnine

Now that The King’s Speech has been honored by the PGA, DGA, and SAG it looks like is now the odds on favorite to win Best Picture. Though a win for ensemble cast at the SAG Awards does not guarantee a best picture win. Since 2000, only five films that won Best Ensemble Cast went on to win the Oscar for Best Picture.

I can’t say that I’m surprised with the winners of last night’s SAG Awards. Colin Firth’s performance as the stuttering King George is deserving as is Natalie Portman’s masterful turn in Black Swan. Christian Bale and Melissa Leo may have only been supporting stars, but they were the standout performances of The Fighter.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,