Warner Bros. Reveals DC Comics Movie Slate

Up until today’s announcement of Warner Bros. and its slate of DC comics movies all that was known is that there would be nine films. Actually, there will be ten and there will be two released every year from 2016 through 2020.

While speaking at Time Warner Investor Day, Warner Bros. CEO Kevin Tsujihara explained more about Warner Bros.’ ambitious plans with its superhero properties.

It all starts with the already in production Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, starring Ben Affleck and Henry Cavill and directed by Zack Snyder (Man of Steel). Also that year is Suicide Squad from David Ayer (Fury, End of Watch). It has been slotted for August 5, 2016. Seeing how well Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy did with its first weekend in August this year, the suits at Warners are hoping to catch similar fire with a group of heroes that most non-comic book readers have ever heard of.

2017 will see the release of the just-announced The LEGO Batman Movie on May 26, 2017, a solo Wonder Woman film on June 23 and the Zack Snyder-directed Justice League Part One on November 10.

Even though CW debuted a new series of The Flash superhero, that’s not stopping WB’s plans for his own big screen adventure in 2018. This year will see the release of two solo DC films with The Flash on March 23, 2018, starring The Perks of Being a Wallflower and We Need to Talk About Kevin‘s Ezra Miller in the title role, plus Aquaman starring Jason Momoa on July 27.

In 2019, audiences will know what The Rock is Cookin’ while in non-wrestling attire (ahem, spandex) when he stars as Black Adam in Shazam on April 5, 2019. Justice League Part Two will follow on June 14, 2019.

2020 brings us two more solo films with Cyborg, starring Ray Fisher, on April 3, 2020 and a reboot of Green Lantern on June 19.

So here’s the complete rundown of DC Comics movies in the pipeline (not including sequels of Man of Steel and more of Ben Affleck as the Caped Crusader in solo adventures)

– Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016)
– Suicide Squad (2016)
– Wonder Woman (2017)
– Justice League Part One (2017)
– The Flash (2018)
– Aquaman (2018)
– Shazam (2019)
– Justice League Part Two (2019)
– Cyborg (2020)
– Green Lantern (2020)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,