Independent Spirit Awards 2015: ‘Birdman’ Victorious, Is Academy Award Next?


The 30th Independent Spirit Awards occurred the eve before the Academy Awards. As the last rest stop on the Road to Oscars, viable winners for some of the top prizes were announced.

Best Feature

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Love Is Strange

Best First Feature

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Dear White People
Obvious Child
She’s Lost Control

John Cassavetes Award

Land Ho!
Blue Ruin
It Felt Like Love
Man From Reno

Best Male Lead

Michael Keaton – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
André 3000 – Jimi: All Is by My Side
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nightcrawler
John Lithgow – Love Is Strange
David Oyelowo – Selma

Best Female Lead

Julianne Moore – Still Alice
Marion Cotillard – The Immigrant
Rinko Kikuchi – Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter
Jenny Slate – Obvious Child
Tilda Swinton – Only Lovers Left Alive

Best Supporting Male

J. K. Simmons – Whiplash
Riz Ahmed – Nightcrawler
Ethan Hawke – Boyhood
Alfred Molina – Love Is Strange
Edward Norton – Birdman

Best Supporting Female

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Jessica Chastain – A Most Violent Year
Carmen Ejogo – Selma
Emma Stone – Birdman
Andrea Suarez Paz – Stand Clear of the Closing Doors

Best Director

Richard Linklater – Boyhood
Damien Chazelle – Whiplash
Ava DuVernay – Selma
Alejandro González Iñárritu – Birdman
David Zellner – Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter

Best Screenplay

Dan Gilroy – Nightcrawler

Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski – Big Eyes
J.C. Chandor – A Most Violent Year
Jim Jarmusch – Only Lovers Left Alive
Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias – Love Is Strange

Best First Screenplay

Justin Simien – Dear White People

Desiree Akhavan – Appropriate Behavior
Sara Colangelo – Little Accidents
Justin Lader – The One I Love
Anja Marquardt – She’s Lost Control

Best Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki – Birdman

Darius Khondji – The Immigrant
Sean Porter – It Felt Like Love
Lyle Vincent – A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Bradford Young – Selma

Best Editing

Tom Cross – Whiplash

Sandra Adair – Boyhood
John Gilroy – Nightcrawler
Ron Patane – A Most Violent Year
Adam Wingard – The Guest

Best International Film

Ida (Poland) – Paweł Pawlikowski
Force Majeure (Sweden) – Ruben Östlund
Leviathan (Russia) – Andrey Zvyagintsev
Mommy (Canada) – Xavier Dolan
Norte, the End of History (Philippines) – Lav Diaz
Under the Skin (United Kingdom) – Jonathan Glazer

Best Documentary

Citizenfour – Laura Poitras
20,000 Days on Earth – Ian Forsyth and Jane Pollard
Stray Dog – Debra Granik
The Salt of the Earth – Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and Wim Wenders
Virunga – Orlando von Einsiedel

Robert Altman Award

(The award is given to its film director, casting director, and ensemble cast)

Inherent Vice – Paul Thomas Anderson

Special Distinction Award

Foxcatcher – Bennett Miller, Anthony Bregman, Megan Ellison, Jon Kilik, E. Max Frye, Dan Futterman, Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, Channing Tatum

Tags: , , ,

Join our newsletter

never miss the latest news, reviews, live event coverage, audio podcasts, exclusive interviews and commentary for Movies, TV, Music, Sports, Comics, Video Games!