Image Comics & Ordinary Gods #1 Spoilers & Review:

The book’s solicitation is a relevant place to open up the issue for readers.

For fans of THE OLD GUARD and GOD COUNTRY comes the extra-length first issue of a centuries-spanning action epic from writer KYLE HIGGINS (RADIANT BLACK) and artist FELIPE WATANABE (The Flash)!

The Luminary. The Prodigy. The Brute. The Trickster. The Innovator. Five gods from a realm beyond our own, leaders in the “War of Immortals.”

At least, they were—before they were trapped, sent to a planet made into a prison, forced into an endless cycle of human death and reincarnation.

Christopher is 22. He’s got two loving parents and a 12-year-old sister. He works at a paint store. He’s in therapy. He’s one of the Five.

Which means, in order to save everyone he cares about, Christopher will have to reconnect with his past lives and do the unthinkable: become a god again.

The concept art for the book is also illuminating.

The book includes a creators credits page.

As well as flashbacks to the past of these immortals stuck in a  reincarnation cycle…

here, here, here, here and here, but…

…it’s the opening sequence set 22 years ago that shows an assassinated immortal and what happens to them when their modern day incarnation expires.

That appears to the immortal Inspiration, but that doesn’t fit with what transpired in the opening sequence, but…

…we now meet a troubled 21 year-old…

…Christopher Becker who is a reincarnated immortal.

Well, “they” know his true self and its triggered.

Becker starts seeing flashbacks to his immortal past and…

…that of the world which in turn triggers his 12 year-old sister to…

…kill their family only to have Christopher saved…

…saved by one of the…

…(failed?) protectors we met 22 years ago?!

The Pulse:

Worlds building on a massive scale here, but a fairly accessible and relatable “present” with 21 year-old Christopher Becker. Decent art too. I am intrigued over what’s next and exploring this new immortal mythology. 8 out of 10.

Tags: , ,

Join our newsletter

never miss the latest news, reviews, live event coverage, audio podcasts, exclusive interviews and commentary for Movies, TV, Music, Sports, Comics, Video Games!