Madlib, one of this generation’s most prolific hip-hop producers, will be releasing a relatively Stones Throw-centric DJ mix on Sept. 30. While most previous releases have been all original material, Madlib has blended tracks by various Stone Throw confidantes with a variety of his own original Beat Konducta material. Noticeably absent from this mix are his other creative outlets, Quasimoto and Yesterday’s New Quintet. As you’ll see in the following press release, other artists who have released albums in this series are J Dilla, DJ Jazzy Jeff and Pete Rock, but others include King Britt, Marley Marl, DJ Spinna and before he started making music for choads.

(from the Stones Throw Records Web site)
Madlib’s long-anticipated addition to BBE’s “Beat Generation” series will be released on Rapster/BBE this Sept. 30. Fitting comfortably into a series whose previous contributors include the late J Dilla, DJ Jazzy Jeff and Pete Rock, Madlib will deliver one of his most straight-forward, neck-snapping hip-hop albums to date.

WLIB AM: King of the Wigflip CD/2LP
1. “The New Resident” – Beat Konducta
2. “Blow the Horns on ’em” – Guilty Simpson
3. “The Plan, Pt. 1” – Georgia Anne Muldrow
4. “Tension” – Beat Konducta
5. “Gamble on Ya Boy” – Defari
6. “The Ox (805)” – MED feat. Poke
7. “All Virtue” – Beat Konducta
8. “Blinfold Test #10 (He Don’t Play)” – J.Rocc
9. “The Thang-Thang” – Price Po
10. “Heat” – Madlib
11. “Smoke Break” – Beat Konducta
12. “The Plan (Reprise)” – Beat Konducta
13. “Life” – Karriem Riggins
14. “Parklight” – Beat Konducta
15. “Yo Yo Affair, Pt. 1 & 2” – Frezna
16. “I Want It Back” – The Professionals (Oh No & Madlib)
17. “Disco Dance” – Beat Konducta
18. “What It Do” – Liberation
19. “Take That Money” – Roc ‘C’ feat. Oh No
20. “Drinks Up!” – Frank N Dank
21. “The Way That I Live” – Stacy Epps
22. “Ratrace” – Murs
23. “Go!” – Guilty Simpson
24. “Stop” – Beat Konducta

For more info, check out:

Tags: , , ,