Censored 11 Cartoons Coming to Warner Archive in 2011

After years of animation fans begging, the Censored Eleven cartoons will be available through Warner Archive in 2011. These Looney Tunes and Merrie Melodies cartoons have been kept off TV since the late ’60s because of their racially oriented jokes.

Michael Lachman of Toonzone reported having a conversation with a representative of Warner Archive at the New York Comic Con. The rep declared the Censored Eleven shall be a Manufacture on Demand title in 2011. They will be uncensored and complete. Warner Archive has yet to officially announce this title so circumstances might still change.

The cartoons in the Censored Eleven are:

1931’s Hittin’ the Trail for Hallelujah Land (Rudolf Ising)
1936’s Sunday Go to Meetin’ Time (Friz Freleng)
1937’s Clean Pastures (Friz Freleng)
1937’s Uncle Tom’s Bungalow (Tex Avery)
1938’s Jungle Jitters (Friz Freleng)
1938’s The Isle of Pingo Pongo (Tex Avery)
1941’s All This and Rabbit Stew (Tex Avery)
1943’s Coal Black and de Sebben Dwarfs (Bob Clampett)
1943’s Tin Pan Alley Cats (Bob Clampett)
1944’s Angel Puss (Chuck Jones; Looney Tunes)
1944’s Goldilocks and the Jivin’ Bears (Friz Freleng)

Tags: , , ,