The Social Network Dominates Houston Film Critics Awards


The Houston Film Critics Society announced its annual awards today. The big winner was The Social Network, which picked up four awards. Christopher Nolan’s Inception snagged two, but the winner that will likely have people talking is Beck’s “We Are Sex Bob-Omb!” from Scott Pilgrim vs. the World for Best Original Song. Edgar Wright, the film’s director, taped a congratulatory message to which he told the audience in attendance to hear the winners that the HFCS was the coolest film critics group in the U.S. And while he didn’t have an award in his possession to show thanks, he made do with a banana.

Complete winners below.

Best PictureThe Social Network

Best Director – David Fincher, The Social Network

Best Actor – Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Best Actress – Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Supporting Actor – Christian Bale, The Fighter

Best Supporting Actress – Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit

Best Screenplay
– Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Best DocumentaryRestrepo

Best Foreign FilmThe Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Best Animated FilmToy Story 3

Best Cinematography – Wally Pfister, Inception

Best Original Score
– Hans Zimmer, Inception

Best Original Song
– “We Are Sex Bob-Omb!”, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (music and lyrics by Beck)

Worst PictureJonah Hex

Humanitarian of the Year – George Clooney

Lifetime Achievement Award
– Sissy Spacek

Travis Leamons is one of the Inside Pulse Originals and currently holds the position of Managing Editor at Inside Pulse Movies. He's told that the position is his until he's dead or if "The Boss" can find somebody better. I expect the best and I give the best. Here's the beer. Here's the entertainment. Now have fun. That's an order!