National Board Of Review Names Zero Dark Thirty Its Film Of The Year
by Travis Leamons on December 5, 2012

This week, the New York Film Critics Circle got the Awards season going when the group announced their winners. And the hits just keep coming with today’s announcement by the National Board of Review. And if the winners are any indication it looks like Kathryn Bigelow may need to get her dress ready come Oscar night. Four years after becoming the first woman to win an Academy Award for her direction of The Hurt Locker, she delivers Zero Dark Thirty, a docudrama about the greatest manhunt in human history: the search for Osama Bin Laden.

Today, the NBR awarded Zero Dark Thirty Best Picture, Best Director, and acknowledged Jessica Chastain’s performance in the lead actress category. Up until a few weeks ago it looked like Jennifer Lawrence may just walk away with the category for her performance in Silver Linings Playbook. To go along with the best film of the year, the NBR named nine other films to complete its top ten, with Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, Lincoln, Looper, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Promised Land and Silver Linings Playbook” making up the rest of the list.

Silver Linings Playbook was also acknowledged with Best Actor for Bradley Cooper (in a surprise choice, over the likes of Daniel Day-Lewis and John Hawkes) and Best Adapted Screenplay for David O. Russell. Leonardo DiCaprio got kudos for his supporting turn in Django Unchained. Some of the bigger surprises was Ann Dowd for Supporting Actress for her role in Compliance and Rian Johnson winning Best Original Screenplay for Looper.

The NBR’s complete list of winners can seen below.

Best Film: Zero Dark Thirty
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)
Best Actor: Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook)
Best Actress: Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)
Best Supporting Actor: Leonardo Dicaprio (Django Unchained)
Best Supporting Actress: Ann Dowd (Compliance)
Best Original Screenplay: Rian Johnson (Looper)
Best Adapted Screenplay: David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)
Best Animated Feature: Wreck-it Ralph
Special Achievement In Filmmaking: Ben Affleck (Argo)
Breakthrough Actor: Tom Holland (The Impossible)
Breakthrough Actress: Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
Best Directorial Debut: Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
Best Foreign Language Film: Amour
Best Documentary: Searching For Sugar Man
William K. Everson Film History Award: 50 Years Of Bond Films
Best Ensemble: Les Misérables
Spotlight Award: John Goodman (Argo, Flight, Paranorman, Trouble with the Curve)
NBR Freedom Of Expression Award: Central Park Five
NBR Freedom Of Expression Award: Promised Land

Top Films
(in Alphabetical Order)

Beasts of the Southern Wild
Django Unchained
Les Misérables
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Promised Land
Silver Linings Playbook

Top 5 Foreign Language Films
(in Alphabetical Order)

The Intouchables
The Kid With A Bike
War Witch

Top 5 Documentaries
(in Alphabetical Order)

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry
The Gatekeepers
The Invisible War
Only The Young

Top 10 Independent Films
(in Alphabetical Order)

End Of Watch
Hello I Must Be Going
Little Birds
Moonrise Kingdom
On The Road
Sleepwalk With Me

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related News Articles

more articles »

Demythify: DC Comics' Teen Titans: Their New 52 Pre-Convergence Debuts, But Who's Left? With Donna Troy, Wally West, Garth & Young Justice's Kaldur'ahm?!

Ring of Honor 13th Anniversary: Winner Takes All (Briscoe, Elgin, Lethal, El Patron) [Updated]

Shout! Factory TV Offers The Werner Herzog Marathon For March

William Shatner Unable To Attend Sunday Funeral Of Actor & Friend Leonard Nimoy Due To Charity Work. Organizes Sunday Twitter Memorial For Fans.

Travis Leamons

view profile »

Featured Poll

Are you surprised by Jupiter Ascending tanking at the box office?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Recent Comments

» more comments

Search Pulse